#1 (Radon) Major KB

(Radon) Major KB

Your friendly neighborhood asshole

• CMF
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1297 posts
  • Medic

Posted May 09, 2015 - 02:57 AM

So, here's a little thing. How do all of you go about cleaning your keyboards, computer, etc? I recently had to clean my Razer Black Widow Ultimate [Hereafter BWU] from a bit of an... alcohol induced session I had. Long story short, I drank too much for the first time [3/4 of a 750 ML bottle of Fireball Cinnamon Whiskey in roughly 45 minutes on an empty stomach] and the keyboard suffered for it. I decided to pull the whole damn thing apart, and fix it two DAYS after it happened. I was gonna toss the fucker.

So, lowdown on keyboard. It was plugged in for many hours after I used it as a makeshift toilet for my stomach. It was still lit up, but no keys worked. I was going to throw it away as part of my lesson, but decided to fix it. I have never done something like this before, so it was my first endeavor in the world of high-tech cleaning. The outside case was filthy, and I was dreading the inside. With the BWU, you gotta unscrew each portion of the casing, with several screws hiding underneath the rubber footers. Eventually, all screws come off but you gotta take [or at least I had to] a screwdriver [flat-tip] to pry them apart. Upon doing so, I found the following. NOT for the squeamish.

Spoiler

Decided that's a no-go. Took the same flat tip screw-driver and started pulling most of that shit up. Trash can next to me, and sitting on the floor. Don't be like me folks, and make sure you have something between the bottom of that green board and yourself. Table, desk, paper plate, whatever. Bottom of that sucker is sharp. Got rid of most of it, and then we went to part 2.